Nyumbani
Nyumbani

Account Lifecycle

Understand the process of inviting members of your organization to claim their accounts.

Overview

Overview

Until members are invited to use Workplace, they will be unaware they have a Workplace account. When an account is in an uninvited state:

  • The member cannot claim the account and any attempts to do so will fail.
  • The member will not receive any emails or other notifications from Workplace.

When you are ready for your members to be made aware that they have an account to claim, you will invite them to Workplace. Users have to claim their accounts first in order to start using Workplace.

How to Invite Accounts

There are three ways to invite people to claim their accounts: Invite everyone, Invite selected people, or Invite individual accounts. These approaches are described below.

Invite Everyone

Invite everyone

Using this option will immediately prompt you to customize the claim email, after which all uninvited members will be invited immediately. With an account who has the permission to add and remove profiles:

1
In the Admin Panel select Unsent Invitations.

3
Click on Invite All.

4
After you have reviewed the default invitation message, click Send.

6
Click OK to confirm.
Invite selected people

Invite selected people

Using this option will immediately prompt you to customize the claim email, after which all uninvited members will be invited immediately. With an account who has the permission to add and remove profiles:

1
In the Admin Panel select Unsent Invitations.

2
Click Choose people to invite.

3
Click Import File.

4
Select a spreadsheet (xlsx or csv) which contains the header Email or External ID and a list of users that you want to invite. You can download a template file if needed.

5
After upload completes, click Next.

6
After you have reviewed the default invitation message, click Send.

7
Click OK to confirm.
Invite a user

Invite a user

Use this option to invite an individual or to resend an invitation for a user who didn't receive theirs the first time. With an account who has the permission to add and remove profiles:

1
In the Admin Panel, select People.

2
A list of people waiting to be invited can be retrieved by filtering profiles with Account status set to Awaiting Invitation.

3
Click Invite in the Account Status column for the user you want to invite.

4
After you have reviewed the default invitation message, click Send.

5
Click OK to confirm.
Account creation and invites

When are accounts invited?

Individual account creation

When you create individual accounts they are immediately invited.

Bulk account creation

When creating accounts in bulk (by using spreadsheets) you will be prompted upon each upload if you would like to invite the accounts right away or later. If you select later, the accounts will be created in an uninvited state and will need to be invited at a later point.

Automatic account management or Account Management API

When you want to synchronize users automatically via a Cloud Identity Provider or a custom tool based on the Account Management API, you'll need to create a custom integration with the manage accounts permission. When you enable this permission, you'll have the option to enable the checkbox Automatically invite people to Workplace as soon as they're added using this integration. This checkbox will allow you to automatically invite users when they're created by a Cloud Identity Provider or a custom tool.

?
When you invite all your users (provisioned via Cloud Identity Provider or via Account Management API) by clicking on the Invite All button as part of a launch, the checkbox to automatically invite people to Workplace will be enabled as soon as they're added using this integration.
EmailLess invites

Email-less account invites

When you create an account without an email address, the account will be automatically created and an access code will be created. You can then choose how and when you'll deliver the access code to the users.